help setting up subdomain

canadave

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to all this stuff, so please bear with me :) Two questions:

First, I'm trying to set up a subdomain, which I've never done before (because my previous host never allowed it!). I have a site at www.infinitives.ca/LTC. Note the capital letters...I'd like it to remain that way because it's an abbreviation.

So what I'd like to do is have a subdomain, LTC.infinitives.ca. Is that possible? If so, how do I do that? When I try creating it, it creates a separate folder called "ltc" in my public_html folder, not "LTC".

I thought capital letters were allowed in subdomains?

Second: How would I go about setting up a phpbb forum in a subfolder of public_html using Fantastico? I see how to set it up in the main directory easily enough, but I can't figure out how to set up the forum in a subfolder.

Thanks!

Dave

Edited by canadave

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to all this stuff, so please bear with me :) Two questions:

First, I'm trying to set up a subdomain, which I've never done before (because my previous host never allowed it!). I have a site at www.infinitives.ca/LTC. Note the capital letters...I'd like it to remain that way because it's an abbreviation.

So what I'd like to do is have a subdomain, LTC.infinitives.ca. Is that possible? If so, how do I do that? When I try creating it, it creates a separate folder called "ltc" in my public_html folder, not "LTC".

I thought capital letters were allowed in subdomains?

The big reason for this is subdomains are not case sensitive all browsers will lower case it all. So by default cPanel will then set it that way. As far as the document root it makes a suggested document root but that does not mean it has to be that. You can specify what you want it to be. I'm not sure if you did that or not when I tried it on a test account it allowed different case. I'd need to take a closer look at this to determine what is going on and that would require a ticket.