Emergency Network Maintenance FCR01 [11/30/2009]


Tony
 Share

Recommended Posts

There will be emergency network maintenance on all our servers behind FCR01 on Monday November 30th starting at 12:30am CST and lasting until 1:30am CST. Although the window is for 1 hour we estimate that there will only be a down time of 15-20 minutes. This maintenance is necessary to correct an issue that could cause network interruptions that would not be scheduled.

This will affect the following servers:

Pluto

Skyline

Saturn

Mars

Mercury

Here is the information we received from our provider regarding this:

The following notification is to inform you of an EMERGENCY MAINTENANCE event on the SoftLayer Technologies IP Network. Due to the severity, the time frame between this notice and the maintenance window has been shortened.

Start Time: 00:30 CST (06:30 UTC)

End Time: 01:30 CST (07:30 UTC)

Summary:

SoftLayer Technologies in conjunction with Cisco Systems have identified a service impacting bug in the current IOS version running on this router. A vendor recommended upgrade has been provided as a resolution and needs to be implemented immediately.

Original Issue Reference:

With the introduction of 4-byte ASNs (Autonomous System Numbers), a newly devised method of injecting a specifically crafted prefix into the global route table allows for the BGP process to be reset on older IOS code.

http://www.cisco.com/warp/public/707/cisco-sa-20090729-bgp.shtml

https://forums.softlayer.com/showthread.php?t=4585

Customer Impact:

During this maintenance, customers will notice a complete loss of connectivity to their servers on the frontend network (public network). Backend network (private network) connectivity will NOT be impacted during this maintenance. While the upgrade duration is scheduled for 1 hour, we only expect between 15-20 minutes of downtime as the routers reload and fully converge. Again, this will NOT impact the backend network (private network) for customer servers.

Emergency Data Center Maintenance - FCR01.DAL01 [11/30/2009]

Date: Monday, November 30, 2009 (11/30/2009)

Start time (CST): 00:30

End time (CST): 01:30

Services affected: Public Network

Location: DAL01

Duration: 1 hour

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
 Share