Well, moving is never painless, but...

flyingship

...so far, in the dreaded process of transferring my sprawling archives of 6+ years of eclectic, self-taught sitebuilding over to Hawk Host, and fixing all the hundreds of links throughout, it's turning out to be as close to "fun" as it ever could be :D I'd forgotten what a functioning control panel was like, ever since my old webhost got bought out by Jumpline and they switched it from the plain but functional interface we had to something that was glossy and buggy and provided nothing but endless time-outs and non-information.

Note: Jumpline is the kiss of death for every webhost they've ever acquired, according to multiple sources, it wasn't just Digitalspace they broke when they touched it - just google "Jumpline sucks" for plenty of bad experiences of all kinds. Telling me I could buy and install my own program to replicate the stats etc that they destroyed :confused: was just one tiny bit of the problem.

The only reason I hung on for so long hoping they'd get better was that I'd been with them so long, and moving to them the first time, after ATT destroyed all the links on my original personal site, had been such a horrible process and caused link rot problems - plus the fear of going through it all over AGAIN after moving and finding out that things weren't good, like happened to one acquaintance of mine with HostGator not too long ago - that it took major billing errors and serial CS dissing :mad: to push me over the edge. This is how it is for a lot of us, I gather, but I wish I'd found out about Hawk Host sooner.